James Well Rogues Point

Hundred of Clinton

Townships within the Hundred of Clinton are Port Arthur, Port Clinton and Clinton Centre.

In 1869 the Wastelands Amendment Act, or as it was more popularly known - The Strangways Act, was passed, and this took the land form the squatters, who had leased it for a nominal amount, and made it available for farmers for agricultural purposes.

Source: Four Make One, page 9


The land was to be surveyed into Hundreds and each Hundred was to contain at least a hundred square miles and to have a town.

Sources: Governor Fergusson's Legacy, pages 3 and 118


The Hundred of Clinton was proclaimed in 1862.

Source: The Ill Shaped Leg, page 76
Top of Page
Print Friendly Page